1993!

Last weekend was my 17th high school reunion. Why 17yrs? Because it took that long before anyone got anything together. Unfortunately (or maybe fortunately depending on how you look at it) the vast majority of our class didn’t show up. I think we had roughly 20 classmates plus spouses. There were lots more people I would have liked to have seen, but I made the most of it (and racked up quite a bar tab in the process)

It all started Friday. We left Atlanta and drove 6hrs to central NC, checked into the hotel, then headed to Franklin Street, Chapel Hill, to meet two of my friends, Steph and Ariaana. In hindsight, meeting for the first time in almost 20yrs in a crowded bar, on the busiest night, on the busiest street in Chapel Hill, might not have been the best idea, but at the same time this street was very much a part of our childhood. We practically grew up roaming this street. It was very much fitting. So, loud, crowded, crazy, be damned…we had a great night. I loved meeting back up with these two, even if I was dying of nerves leading up to it.

Saturday, we headed to my MIL’s house. I could write a book on that event, but that’s not what this post is about.  So, we left there with plenty of time to  get ready for the reunion that was being held at our hotel (conveniently planned that way). Again, I was nervous. Looking at the guest list, I wasn’t sure how this was going to go down. I wasn’t exactly Miss Popularity in high school, and an overwhelming majority of the confirmed guests were people who would probably have no idea who I even was. I started drinking.

Now for a disclaimer. I drank WAY TOO MUCH. I rarely drink like this. I think I can count the number of times I have..hold on..yep, I can…4 times. Those 4 times just happen to have been in the past 2 years. Ugh. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy a drink, or two, or three or four…but not to the extent that I drank Saturday night. And it came back to bite me in the ass, HARD, Sunday.

Now for the reunion. Everything was supposed to start around 6:30. We got there closer to 7, and nothing was really going on. We wandered around for a while, opened a tab at the bar, and waited. Slowly people started to trickle in. Arianna showed up, so I knew I’d at least have one person I liked there.

We went ahead and started on the dinner buffet. The DJ had the music so loud that it was impossible to talk to people. My poor husband with his hearing loss was in an auditory fog all night.

Right after dinner, they gave out “awards”.  No one really seemed into these things at all. In fact, I got an award and I have no idea what it was about because I wasn’t paying attention, all I know was they called my name and I “won” a $5 Target gift card for being “Most Eager”?? Most eager for what, exactly? Guess I should have been paying attention.

Right after that, they turned the music up and the lights down, making it even harder to socialize with people. I did manage to talk to a few people though. One guy I really only know through Facebook, in fact, he might not have actually known me since he approached me saying “Hey Facebook friend”. Well, hi yourself.  I didn’t realize it at the time, but most of my socializing was with the men. There was really only one woman that said anything to me. I mean, I’ve always been a guy’s girl, which is probably why I didn’t notice it, but I did find it odd that at least 2 women are (were) on my Facebook “friends” list, yet didn’t say a word to me at the reunion. I removed them. I’m over it, as they say.

I think the one of the high points of the night (besides having someone INSIST my name was Katie), was not being recognized by the guy I always had a crush on. After I told him who I was, he made several comments about how different I looked, how that was a good thing, and that he wasn’t the only one who thought so. Hmmm…I guess 35 looks good on me.

Shortly after that, it was time to call it a night. I passed out and woke up feeling like hell and didn’t shake the feeling for a good part of the day.

I’m really glad I went. I’ll probably never go to another. I wish other people had come, but I totally understand not wanting to revisit that time in our lives.

I hope I can see Steph and Arianna again, they really were the best part of the weekend.

