I love the show Top Chef. I love food. I love eating. That’s probably why I’ve gained a good 50lbs in the past few years. I like eating more than I hate my ass. Anyway, Top Chef, love it. Last season, from the very first episode, I fell in love with Kevin Gillespie. Every week, he’d cook and I’d want to eat it. It was a bonus that his restaurant, Woodfire Grill, was located in Atlanta. Every week, I tuned in to see what he cooked up next and waited to see how he would finish.

At the end of the season it was down to him, and the Voltaggio brothers. I really felt as though Kevin was the solid cook through out the competition, but of course, I wasn’t a judge. Kevin came in 3rd, which is nothing to sneeze at by any means. He went on to win Fan Favorite.

I waited, for just the right occasion, to make reservations to eat his food. Feb 26th was the day. My 13th wedding anniversary. I had to make the reservations the last week of Jan since they were so busy. Every week, I’d study the menu (that changes due to what is available since one of Kevin’s goals is to cook local, sustainable, foods) trying to see just what I wanted to order.

Finally the evening came. I was like a little kid meeting…whatever the hottest cartoon character of the day is. We walked in and as we were waiting to be seated (a mere seconds, they really make sure you are taken care of here) KEVIN! WALK! PAST! ME! I grabbed my husband’s arm and said under my breathe “Oh my god! Oh my god! It’s him!!”

By this time, we were walking to our seats and I was giddy with excitement. We consulted our waiter about our wine, then looked over the menu. We decided to go for the adventure and picked the 5 course chef’s tasting. We’d have no idea what we were eating, until it showed up on our table.

While we were waiting for our first course, my husband asked the waiter if Kevin would let us take a picture with him. I was practically kicking him under the table. I can’t stand being “that” person. The waiter said absolutely, just to stop by the grill before we left. A few minutes later he came back to say that it might get busy before we were finished at if we wanted to come up now and meet Kevin, it would be a great time.

I gushed. I shook his hand and told him I loved him and was a huge fan. He was so super nice…I was a huge goober.

Now, for the food

Everything was amazing. The presentation, the taste, everything. There were flavors that exploded in your mouth. I wish I had taken notes on everything I was eating. A few things that stood out was the lamb dish, and there was another dish that had a cauliflower puree on the bottom. Wonderful!

At the end of the meal, they brought us out little boxes with truffles as an anniversary gift.

I guess I can’t honestly say that this was a “5-star” restaurant, but I think it fulfilled my wish. I loved everything about the place, unfortunately, at $240for the 2 of us, it’s not something I can afford to do…ever 😦

I’ll always have the picture though

