The Holiday Season has crashed in on us. The tree is decorated, presents are bought, and the countdown has begun.

It’s actually odd being ready this early. We’ve always been last-minute shoppers. My husband gets a bonus at Christmas, but it doesn’t usually come until the 20th or so, so we typically put off shopping until them. This year we decided to try something different. We decided that the kids really didn’t need all the crap they ask for. So we picked one special item on their list and bought that. They will also get the standard clothes, socks and underwear, but other than that…sorry Dear, you’ve been ice skating once, 3yrs ago, and we live in Georgia…you’re not getting ice skates, no matter how many times you put it on your list.

In other news, we pick up our puppy on the 18th. I can’t wait. I thought we’d settled on the name Max, but it seems my husband had other ideas (his number one choice for a name being Uranus Liquor…umm, no). So, now we’re deciding between Echo, Eos, Havoc, Lennon, and Saber. I like Echo, but I feel like every time i call him, I’d have to yell out “ECHO ECHO Echo Echo echo echo”. Eos is cool, but a bit off the unconventional cliff. I think Havoc is perfect, but the kids are trying to veto that one. I like Lennon simply for the John Lennon factor, but it’s a bit of a mouthful. Saber, I like, but I don’t love.

My MIL is coming down for Christmas (well, as of now she is, but she’s been known to change her mind on the fly). If she does come down we will have 5 dogs in the house. Our 2, her 2, and my oldest is dog sitting the neighbors pup.  I’m gonna need more hambones.

As far as my mother goes, well, I havent heard from her since the Thanksgiving incident. I knew opening my mouth and saying something to her would cause her to ice me out, but I couldn’t just take it. But maybe I should have. I dunno. I sent her the Christmas gift I had bought her before she told me she wasn’t coming. I got an impersonal card in the mail, simply signed with her name. Not even a confirmation that she received the gift. I guess I need to let it go. I don’t think we’ll ever have the relationship I want us to have.

I’m working on my Goals for 2010. Not resolutions, but goals I want to accomplish before this time next year.

Until then…Happy Holidays

