I ended up going to NC to see my mom. I got up early Saturday morning and drove 6hrs to her house.
That’s where I met her boyfriend.
I’m still trying to wrap my head around this whole situation. To be blunt…I don’t like him. Don’t be mistaken…it’s not in a “you’re not my father and there by not good enough” way. I don’t care about that. I just want my mom to be happy, and she says she is, so really, who am I to say otherwise. However…I don’t have to like him.

So the story goes that they dated back in high school. He’s been married for 40-plus years. Yes, that’s right…he’s married. Oh, it gets better. He still lives with his wife “because of the economy”. Because of the economy my mom is in an adulterous relationship.
Yeah, I guess I really don’t care about the excuses. I don’t care that he cant afford to move, or whatever. He seems to be able to afford to take my mom out to expensive dinners, give her money, buy her things and take her on trips. I guess finalizing the divorce and moving out just isn’t a priority.
But it gets better…
My mom now dresses like she’s shopping at the Hooker Thrift Store. Cheap and tacky. I woudl have no problem with her dressing sexier, but she’s dressing just down right trashy. All because it’s what HE wants. In fact, on Sunday just her and I went out for breakfast. She wore a pair of jeans and a nice button down dress shirt and sneakers. Later he called and said he was going to stop by and she had to jump up and change clothes because he wouldn’t approve of her outfit. It made her look old. I mean seriously, she’s 62yrs old I think she has earned teh right to dress however SHE wants, especially in her own home.
Then there is his reaction to her cancer treatments. He convinces her not to do chemo if he has weekend plans and wants her to come. She cant be sick you know. He doesnt want to see her without her wig and tells her to cover her head. He wont take her to the hospital for treatments or drive her home when she’s too sick (and not supposed to drive by order of the Dr). So this man who supposedly loves her so much he’s leaving his wife of over 40yrs, can’t be there while she is going through one of the hardest times in her life.
I love my mother. I want her to be happy anmd if this is the kind of life she wants, and she really is happy, I will support her in it. But, I don’t have to like this man.
I really hope she doesn’t get her heart broken. After a lifetime with my dad, she really deserves better than this

