I’m like a rubber band that keeps getting pulled at both ends. I don’t know how much farther I can stretch without breaking.

I had a showing scheduled for today from 4-6pm. Today was also Double Header Soccer day which meant games at 9am, 11:15am, 1:30pm, and 2:15pm. It rained all night so soccer was canceled. I was woken up by the phone this morning, someone wanting to look at the house in 30 mins. There was no way I could get me and 3 kids up, dressed, the house tidied and us out the door (with the dog) in 30 mins. I told them that wouldn’t work, but I had a showing scheduled for 4 – 6 so if they wanted to try to reschedule around that time it would be more convenient. They said they would call back. They never did.

When I told my husband about this he asked “Do you want people to be nice or do you want to sell the fucking house”, I hadn’t realized that wanting more than 30 mins notice to show was the same as not wanting to sell the house. If HE was home he would have told them to come on over. I was just being “difficult”.

The 4 – 6 people didn’t know up. I was out the door with 3 kids and a dog driving around for 2 hours (in the rain) and they didn’t show up. But I’m supposed to jump anytime someone wants to look at the house whether it’s convenient for me or not.

The other thing….My husband is scheduled to work in Atlanta next week. I asked if he would look at a few houses while he was there and he acted put out. “I have to work all day. It would be after 6pm before I could look at anything. Do you think the Realtor wants to be out all night looking at houses with me?” Well, for starters…IT”S HER JOB. If she doesn’t, you find someone who will. She’s been a Realtor for over 20 years, I think she knows how this works. I’m sure she’s shown houses to working people before.

The truth is, he doesn’t want to be involved in any of the “messiness”. He wants to just show up at closing and sign the papers. Keeping the house clean, arranging showings, looking through the web site to find houses to look at, going to the houses. All of that is supposed to call on MY shoulders. When I’m supposed to tour these houses, I don’t know…I’m over 400 miles away.

And that’s been our relationship for the past 7 yrs. He checks out, and I handle everything. He thinks his presence fixes everything, but it doesn’t. I’ve already laid the groundwork. He just walks in and gets the credit.

I don’t know if I’m going to make it through this move.

