I don’t do New Year’s Resolutions. They are just a set up for failure. However, this year my husband and I were talking about weight. He has a lot to lose and it’s been a bone of contention between us. Not that I’m superficial and wont love him with the extra weight. It’s because of his health. He has sleep apnea and high cholesterol as well as back, knee and feet problems. He is a very physical guy, but he also has a company expense account and eats out every day.  So, in talking about it, I asked him how much he would like to loose and he said 40pounds. I would like to loose 20, at least (I wont even tell you what the scale said when I stepped on it). So, the two of us made a deal. It’s not a competition, it’s not a new year’s resolution, it’s just the 2 of us supporting and encouraging each other. We both want to loose 20 pounds by our anniversary at the end of Feb. That’s 20 pounds in 2 mths. It seems like a lot, but I’ve done it before. It will just take a lot of work. Since the weather is getting worse and I can’t get out on my bike like I want, I joined a gym for 3 mths. I am on week 2 of going and I go every day Mon-Fri. Mon/Weds/Fri is strength training on eth machines. Tues/Thurs is a step class for cardio, plus my karate class in the evenings.  I’m also getting a couple of Spinervals DVDs to work on my bike attached to a trainer so I can build my base for Spring training. The getting started is the hardest part, but once I get into a routine it will be just like getting out of bed in the morning.

