National Write a Novel Month. If writinga novel isn’t your thing…no fear. You can also participate in National Blog Posting Month. The idea is to post something everyday during Nov. You could sign up to be part of the Official Blog List…or you can forgo all the pomp and circumstance and just write. That’s what I’m doing. Some people dance like no one is watching…I’m gonna write like no one is reading. I’ll start with Halloween….

I’ve always loved Halloween. It’s been my favorite holiday since I was a kid. Not for the candy, for the costume. I usually start planning my costume right after Halloween is over. I like being creative and coming up with something original. One year I wore a business suit and wrapped myself in red ribbon. What was I? Red Tape of course! Ok, so not everyone gets me…I’m ok with that.

This year I punked myself out and went as “Your Mama”. Not as creative as I wodl have liked, but it worked in a pinch. I really wanted an apron and a plate of cookies to go with my tattoo shirt, funky hair, short skirt, fishnets and dark makeup. I found the contradictions hilarious.

Along with my punk mommy, we had a ghastly ghost, a vampire, and a football player…who had been bitten by said vamp (complete with fang marks.)

We went to my dojo’s annual Halloween party. Its always good fun. We get lots of candy, don’t have to worry about the weather, and get to just have a lot of fun. This year was different though. I can sense a shift in things. The school manager is pregnant this year (which is great, I’m very happy for them). Dad is our Sensei. Things were just so much more low key. Ben and Lisa usually dress up together. Last year they were Bonnie and Clyde. Lisa didn’t dress up this year. She also spend most of the night sitting in the back, which caused Ben to constantly disappear to check on her.  Don’t get me wrong…I know I am sounding like a horrible wrench right now. I am thrilled at Ben being a dad. If anyone would make a great father it’s him. This is truely a blessing upon them. I guess I’m just not ready for the shift at the dojo. I love our holiday parties. I love the energy that Ben gives the school and the kids there. I also know how much your life changes when you have a child. For the better of course! But I can feel that things are shifting for him. The dojo is not as much a priority as it once was. That is great for his daughter….but not so great for the rest of us.

I am excited and sad to see what the next year brings.

