Hmmm, what did I do this weekend? Something big, important maybe? Oh yeah! I participated in the 2006 ADA Tour de Cure 2 day 150 mile road bike ride.

I had no idea how unprepared I was for this, but I’ll get to that part later.

I drove up to Cary (about 35 mins from home) on Friday night to spend the night since check in started at 7am, and I’m not so much of a morning person. My friend and I had a huge meal of pasta at Olive Garden, and truly overstuffed ourselves. It was awesome to be able to just eat whatever we wanted. We even had 2 desserts.

We went back to the hotel and couldn’t sleep because of nerves and everything else. Saturday morning was fun, lol.

We got up and packed up our overnight back and saddle bags with cliff bars and hammer gel and filled our water bottles and took off to the starting line. Proving that I hadn’t been on eth bike in too long, my tires were flat. Luckily, you couldn’t throw a bike spoke without hitting someone with a pump so I was good. We were all sitting on our bikes waiting for the start. THe co-ordinator started talking about the impact that diabetetes has on society. Throughout the hour registration, they had a volunteer passing out red bandanas. She asked all of us that had one to raise them up. There was a sea of red, when she said every red bandana representsa person who was diagnoised with diabetes within the hour it took to register. Every 22 secs another person gets diagnoised. It’s a staggering statistic. The emotion of it all was a bit much and I had to compose myself a bit.

Then we were off! The first hill came as a surprise. I had no idea what gear to put things in to make it easy, so I was really struggling. The flat part I was keeping a steady pace, but as soon as I hit a hill I was dragging. By teh time we got to the first rest stop, my heart rate was way too high. I was having trouble catching a breathe. The medic wanted me tos top. They started talking about the ER, which was overkill if you ask me, but I can understand why they have to throw it out there. I ended up getting SAGed to the next stop so I could rest a bit. When I got there, my heart rate still wasn’t down, so they woudln’t let me continue. I had someone run me and my bike back to the car, and followed the riders to the finish line. I felt like crap for not being able to finish the ride, but I have to let all that go, and just get back on eth bike and train for next year. This wont happen next year. I know what I need to do and I’m committed to doing it.

Even with my dissapointment, it was still a rewarding experience. I raised a lot of money for a cause that is really close to my heart.

