Yesterday, while the kids were at school, blissfully unaware of what their mother was doing…I snuck off and watched a movie. This is a big deal because we worship all that is good and holy in the new release section of the video store, AND because I had already gotten to see a movie in an actual movie theater 2 weeks ago for my Birthday. I’m living large.
I went to see Silent Hill. I live with 2 “gamers”, but this is a game we had not had the pleasure of playing. Once, years ago, we had Silent Hill 2, but when my husband spent hours wandering around a graveyard with no idea what he was supposed to do, he gave up and went on to bigger and better things. That was the only experience with Silent Hill that we had. The movie trailers sucked me in though and I really wanted to see it.
There were 4 people in the theater, counting me, and I admit I wondered why they weren’t at work or school or something at 10:40am on a Friday.
The movie was awesome! It was spooky and scary and intense and I just loved it. I’m a total horror movie whore. I love being scared and this one scared me. I don’t want to be a big spoiling spoiler so I will stop talking about it now expect to say that, if you like horror movies, go watch it. You don’t have to be a video game fan to enjoy it. The critics are saying this is the best game to screen movie yet, and they are right.

And now, in the worst segway in history…

After the movie I had just enough time to run off to my kids’ school to see my oldest in his D.A.R.E. graduation. They sang songs about being friends and not doing drugs. Their opening number was, and I’m not making this up…A Little Help from My Friends. You know, the one that says “I get high with a little help from my friends”. I found it hysterically funny.
After the singing, the D.A.R.E. officer presented the essay winner with a medal. Surprise surprise, My kid won! He is super smart and able to just pull things together with little to no effort. I keep telling him that one day that will all catch up to him. Giving him an award for something he wrote at the last minute isn’t helping my case any. But, I’m still proud of him. How can I not be. He’s a great kid.

